Bestowed Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to enterprising leaders in our community who have significantly impacted the development of economic ventures in Niagara. Lifetime Achievement Award recipients are entrepreneurs who have spent decades of their lives shaping Niagara, building a legacy, and contributing positively to our community. They must either live or own business enterprise(s) in the Niagara region.

Community Contribution Award

The Community Contribution award is a bestowed special service award designed to honour those entrepreneurs whose dedication, commitment, leadership and philanthropy have had a significant impact on the greater Niagara community. Recipients of this award have served as role models by giving back to the community or local charities.

Gene Luczkiw Spirit of Enterprise Scholarship Award

The Gene Luczkiw Spirit of Enterprise Award provides financial support to one or more students who demonstrate the spirit of enterprise. The purpose of this Award is to foster, cultivate, and spread the “Spirit of Enterprise” amongst the youth of Niagara. Gene embodied this spirit as he tirelessly worked to help individuals discover their unique abilities and find meaning and purpose in their lives and careers. This minimum $1,000 Award, will be awarded annually to a student attending school in the Niagara Region.

Historical Hall of Fame Award

The Niagara Enterprise Hall of Fame was created in 1994 and is a posthumous, bestowed award to remind people of the rich entrepreneurial heritage of the Niagara Region. Our very first inductee was William Hamilton Merritt whose contributions to the region in the early 1800s are well known. Over 25 years, NEYA recognized other such individuals who have helped shape Niagara through enterprising innovation.

For a complete list of past recipients of bestowed and juried awards by year, please visit our archives of NEYA Alumni.